A19 Road Safety

Jarrow constituency MP, Stephen Hepburn, has questioned government transport ministers in Parliament on improving road safety on the A19 in the North East.

In 2017, over 70 people were injured in incidents on the A19 on the 25 mile stretch between Wolviston in Billingham and Boldon.

Mr Hepburn tabled a Parliamentary question to ask the Secretary of State for Transport, what steps his Department is taking to improve road safety on the A19 road in North East England.

Transport minister Jesse Norman MP, told the Jarrow constituency MP: “The A19 is some 124 miles in length of which Highways England is responsible for the 67 mile section between Thirsk in North Yorkshire and Seaton Burn in Tyne and Wear with the remainder being the responsibility of local highways authorities.”

“Since 2011, Highways England have delivered safety improvements at ten locations on the A19, including improvements to traffic signals and road markings, provision of additional road capacity to reduce congestion, and improved facilities for pedestrians and cyclists.”

"The Government provides the Integrated Transport Block funding for local highways authorities; this is aimed at small scale transport schemes and can be used for safety improvements. It is for each individual local highway authority to manage its network, based upon its local knowledge and circumstances."

Stephen Hepburn MP said: “I am concerned about the increasing number of incidents on the section of the road that runs through the North East.

“The lack of investment, maintenance and upgrading of the road is holding back our regions economic potential. The A19 runs through centre of the Jarrow constituency and it is vital to the local economy.

“I will continue to press Government transport ministers in Parliament to urgently review safety on the road and to ensure our region isn’t neglected and gets its fair share of investment in road infrastructure.”

Meet your MP


Stephen Hepburn has served the Jarrow Constituency as MP since 1997.

He was last elected to serve in June 2017 and won the seat with a conclusive 17,263 majority.

Go to top