Tyne and Wear Metro trains

Stephen Hepburn, MP for the Jarrow Constituency has further questioned Government Transport Ministers on the progress of new metro trains.

Mr Hepburn asked the Secretary of State for Transport what recent progress he has made on the procurement, delivery and rollout of the new fleet of trains for the Tyne and Wear Metro.

The new trains are expected to be designed and built over the next few years and are expected to enter service from 2021. Nexus have stated that they work to provide and improve frequent and reliable services in the meantime with the current fleet of trains that first entered service in 1980.

Over recent years, the amount of train failures has surged causing repeated lengthy delays for passengers. It is thought that the number train failures will only increase further until new trains are brought into service.

Transport Minister Jesse Norman MP told the Jarrow constituency MP: “Nexus are responsible for the management of the procurement, delivery and rollout of the new fleet of trains. Nexus provide the Department for Transport with regular updates on this procurement work as part of its regular reporting. The Periodic Indicative Notice (PIN) for the procurement of the new fleet by Nexus was published on 25 January 2018.”

Stephen Hepburn MP said:

“We must keep the pressure on the Department for Transport and the Government to work alongside Nexus so they ensure that new trains on the metro are brought into service on time. It took the Tory Government years to finally stump up the funding.”

“Local people know from recent experience how often the almost 40-year-old trains are breaking down and failing so it is crucial new rolling stock is brought in as soon as possible and I will continue press the Government on this issue.”

http://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/written-questions-answers-statements/written-question/Commons/2018-02-26/129748/ - Link to written question and answer.

Meet your MP


Stephen Hepburn has served the Jarrow Constituency as MP since 1997.

He was last elected to serve in June 2017 and won the seat with a conclusive 17,263 majority.

Go to top