Employment statistics

Stephen Hepburn, MP for the Jarrow Constituency, has today criticised the Government over local employment figures. 

According to official figures from the House of Commons Library, the total number of unemployed claimants in the Jarrow constituency in March 2018 was 1,965.

The Jarrow Parliamentary constituency is made up of the electoral wards of Bede, Boldon Colliery, Cleadon and East Boldon, Fellgate and Hedworth, Hebburn North and South, Monkton, Primrose, as well as Pelaw and Heworth. 

The data, which was released on 17 April 2018, shows that this represents a rate of 4.9 per cent of the economically active population aged 16-64 in the constituency. This is 2.1 per cent higher than the UK average. 

Jarrow is the 82ndhighest out of the 650 Parliamentary constituencies that make up the UK.

The number of unemployed claimants in Jarrow constituency is 135 higher than March 2017 and 85 higher than February 2018.

Stephen Hepburn MP said:

“It is always shocking how the Tory Government boast about how good the employment percentages are. The truth is that unemployment has increased in Jarrow and the official figures prove it.

“There are 1,965 real people who are claiming unemployment benefit in the Jarrow constituency. They just want a job. They don’t want to hear from Tory Government Ministers boasting and bragging. It is important to remember that.

“What’s shocking is that these figures only include the number of unemployed people receiving unemployment benefit. The figures miss those who are unemployed and aren’t registered. The real unemployment figure will sadly be even higher.

“I’m proud to be campaigning for a Labour government that will make tackling poverty an immediate priority with a real Living Wage of £10 per hour by 2020, an end to the public sector pay cap and urgent reforms to the Tories deeply flawed Universal Credit programme.”

Meet your MP


Stephen Hepburn has served the Jarrow Constituency as MP since 1997.

He was last elected to serve in June 2017 and won the seat with a conclusive 17,263 majority.

Go to top