A19 Road Safety

Stephen Hepburn, MP for the Jarrow Constituency, has continued to campaign for the Government to improve road safety on the North East section of the A19. 

The Jarrow constituency MP is a supporter of the campaign to improve safety on the A19.

Mr Hepburn asked the Government Transport Ministers if they will undertake a review of road safety on the A19.

Transport Minister, Jesse Norman responded with: 

“Safety is a key priority for Highways England and it keeps the safety of its roads is under continuous review. Since 2011, safety improvements have been delivered at several locations on the A19, involving improvements to traffic signals and road markings, provision of additional road capacity to reduce congestion, and improved facilities for pedestrians and cyclists.”

“The Road Investment Strategy for 2015-2020, announced three schemes for delivery on the A19. These are projected to save at least 380 casualties over a 60-year period.”

“In 2017, the Department for Transport announced a scheme to install signals at the junction of A19 and A179 at Sheraton, in order to address an important local congestion and safety issue.”

The Minister also told Stephen Hepburn MP that the figures for the number of collisions on the A19 road in the North East in 2017 “will be published later this year”, after Mr Hepburn asked why he had only provided the 2016 figures when the Minister was previously asked in March. 

Stephen Hepburn MP said:

“I am proud to continuing to press the Government to review road safety on the A19.”

“It still seems that there is an abnormally high number of incidents on the stretch of the road that runs through the North East.

“While it is disappointing that the Minister did not commit to specifically reviewing road safety on the A19, I’m confident that if we keep up the pressure, the Government will look into why there are so many incidents and what can be done about it.


“They must take action now so that more injuries and fatalities are prevented”.


Meet your MP


Stephen Hepburn has served the Jarrow Constituency as MP since 1997.

He was last elected to serve in June 2017 and won the seat with a conclusive 17,263 majority.

Go to top