School funding

Stephen Hepburn MP for the Jarrow Constituency has called on the government to put more money into our schools during Prime Minister’s Questions in Parliament recently. 


The Jarrow Constituency MP has criticised the Government’s schools funding policy in Parliament, and believes that unless the Government allocates additional money, schools will continue to struggle.  School funding has already been cut by £2.8 billion since 2015 and Head Teachers and staff are now faced with the difficult job of having to make ends meet so they can offer the best education for all children. 


Schools fear that further cuts will inevitably result, amongst many other things, in increased class sizes, loss of school staff and cuts to extra-curricular activities and resources. 


Last year, the respected Institute for Fiscal Studies found that per-pupil funding had been cut by 8 per cent since 2010.  Mr Hepburn called on the Prime Minister to take immediate action to inject much needed money into our education system and protect our children’s education.


Mr Hepburn asked the Prime Minister: “Does the Prime Minister not feel guilty that parents and teachers are being forced to buy books and pens for schools and that heads are cleaning classrooms?”


The Prime Minister replied: “The hon. Gentleman heard my response earlier. We are putting more money into our schools and ensuring that overall per-pupil funding is protected. Yes, we have asked schools to do more, and I recognise the pressures on them, but the Government have responded with more funding.”


Stephen Hepburn MP added:


“Despite the best efforts of our hard-working schools to protect pupils from these cuts, this is becoming more and more difficult.


“We want every child to get the best possible start in life, but if the government don’t change their course then this simply won’t be possible.


“Our schools must be provided with the resources they need and their funding cuts must be reversed.”



Meet your MP


Stephen Hepburn has served the Jarrow Constituency as MP since 1997.

He was last elected to serve in June 2017 and won the seat with a conclusive 17,263 majority.

Go to top